Insanity: Day 61 & 62 – Finish Line

Although the Max Interval Plyo and Max Cardio Conditioning – Insane Abs combo workouts are two of the hardest in all of Insanity, I felt the most relief while doing them because it marks the end of Insanity. Officially, it doesn’t end until the last Fit Test, but that’s a cake walk after going through these last few weeks.

I honestly did not know if I would be able to finish Insanity. I don’t only feel good physically, but I feel like I gained a lot of confidence.  It’s a great workout to be a part of and I’ve even tossed around the idea of continuing it so I can maintain or become more fit.  We’ll see though.  For now, I’m going to embrace the fact that I’m done.

If you’re familiar with plyometric training, then you’ll realize that Max Interval Plyo deals a lot with using your body weight and gravity as resistance.  One of the hardest circuits is doing Power Jumps after working on quads and abs for two straight minutes.  There is a ton of cardio involved as well.  I pushed myself hard and I felt a vomit sensation that had eluded me since the first week of Insanity.

Also, I must’ve mentioned this during every Max Interval Plyo, but the Level 3 Drills is just ridiculous.  After 60 days of Insanity, I still can’t keep up.  It was one of my lofty goals I wasn’t able to accomplish.  Oh well, can’t win ‘em all.

IMG_6198

Max Cardio Conditioning leaves you no time to rest or take breaks.  Shaun T. takes you through a fast-paced routine.  There are a couple worth mentioning:

One of these is Football Runs which is a sprint to a low plank and back up.  This one increased my level of respect for football players.

A second one is something he calls Over the River Hops.  It’s more of a cool down routine.  Let’s just say this one makes me feel like a fairy and does not increase my level of respect of River Dance.  I’m not being mean, just honest.

The conclusion to this is tough on the shoulders and quads: Push Up Abs, Plank Punches, 8 Jump Ropes – 8 Hop Squats combo (ridiculous), and then Squat Speed Bag.

Don’t forget about a fun 30 minutes of Insane Abs right away!

IMG_6199

This entry was posted in Insanity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

